County Board

    Welcome to, proving information and access to many services provided by Montgomery County, Illinois.  Providing those county services are 140 full time and 20 part time professional, dedicated employees.  The County’s fiscal year 2017 operating budget is $19,216,192 which includes the General Fund, Highway Department, Health Department and the 708 Board. 

    If you are unable to find what you’re looking for, try one of the phone numbers under the “contact us” tab at the top of the page.  Also, If you have ideas or suggestions as how to improve our Web Site, please let us know at:


Compensation package over $75,000 can be found here!


Roy Hertel, Chairman

Montgomery County Board



Montgomery County is governed by a board consisting of 21 persons, three elected from each of seven districts. Board members are elected to four-year terms.

All board members are assigned to committees by the board chairman. The committees oversee the work of various county offices and do "homework" of research and study prior to presentation of business before the board. For a list of committees and assignments, click here and for regular meeting times, click here.

The county board meets in the board room (second floor) of the Historic Courthouse at 8:30 a.m. on the second Tuesday of the month except in rare circumstances.

The members from each of the seven districts are listed here. To determine which members represent your area, the districts are defined by townships and voting precincts located here.

Members who drew two-year terms are noted in each district. Members without the two-year designation will serve four-year terms.